COUNCIL

24 JANUARY 2017

REPORT OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE

A.4 REVIEW OF THE ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO POLITICAL GROUPS

(Report prepared by Ian Ford)

Following the decision of Councillor J A Brown to leave the UKIP Group, the decision of Councillor J E Parsons to leave the UKIP Group and to join the Labour Group and the resignation from the Council of former Councillor T A Howard and in accordance with Section 15(1)(e) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and Regulation 17(b) of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 a review of the allocation of seats to political groups was subsequently carried out. Following that review and in accordance with the wishes of the affected Group Leaders revised appointments have been made and are set out in the Schedule attached to this report.

RECOMMENDED – That, in accordance with the wishes of Group Leaders, Council approves the schedule of Members that it is proposed should serve on each of the Council's Committees and Sub-Committee, which are subject to the Widdicombe Rules.

IAN DAVIDSON CHIEF EXECUTIVE

COUNCIL

5 JULY 2016

BACKGROUND PAPERS LIST FOR REPORTS OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE

A.4 REVIEW OF THE ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO POLITICAL GROUPS

None.

COMMITTEES/SUB-COMMITTEE (24 JANUARY 2017)

WIDDICOMBE

Committee		Conservative		Holland Residents	Independent	Labour	No Group/Va cant	UKIP	Coastal Independ ents	Tendring Independ ents
Audit Committee <mark>(Chair: Coley)</mark> (V/Chair:Griffiths)	5	Coley Griffiths	2	0	0	0	1 Vacant	1 Stephenson	0	1 Poonian
Community Leadership & Partnerships Committee (Chair: Fairley) (V/Chair: Baker)	11	Amos Baker Fairley Land	4	1 King	1 Yallop	2 I J Henderson Parsons	0	2 Newton Raby	0	1 Poonian
Corporate Management Committee (Chair: Steady) (V/Chair: Platt)	8	Baker Massey Platt	3	0	1 Steady	1 Parsons	1 Scott	1 Whitmore	0	1 Chittock
Council Tax Committee (Chair: Miles) (V/Chair Nicholls)	5	Miles Nicholls	2	0	0	0	0	1 Bray	1 Hughes	1 Chittock
Human Resources Committee <mark>(Chair</mark> Callender) (V/Chair: Chapman)	14	Amos Callender Cossens Ferguson Massey Skeels Snr.	6	1 Broderick	1 Chapman	1 Calver	2 Bucke Porter	Bennison Bray Pemberton	0	0
Licensing & Registration	15	Amos	6	1 Winfield	1 White	1 J	2 Bucke	3 Raby	1 Skeels	0

Committee (Chair: Cossens) (V/Chair: Callender)		B Brown M Brown Callender Cossens V E Guglielmi			Henderson	Porter	Watson Whitmore	Jnr	
Local Plan Committee <mark>(Chair Stock)</mark> (V/Chair: Turner)	15	7 Amos G V Guglielmi Land Platt Skeels Snr. Stock Turner	1 Broderick	1 Chapman	1 I J Henderson	2 Cawthron Scott	3 Bray Newton Stephenson	0	0
Planning Committee <mark>(Chair: White)</mark> (V/Chair Heaney)	11	4 Baker Fairley Heaney McWilliams	0	1 White	1 Fowler	2 Gray J Brown	2 Everett Hones	1 Hughes	0
Service Development & Delivery Committee (Chair: Griffiths) (V/Chair:)	8	3 Griffiths V E Guglielmi Miles	0	1 Yallop	1 Fowler	0	2 Hones Pemberton	1 Skeels Jnr.	0
Standards Committee (Chair: Heaney) (V/Chair: Honeywood)	7	3 Heaney Honeywood Nicholls	0	1 Steady	0	2 Cawthron J Brown	1 Whitmore	0	0
General Purposes Sub- Committee (Chair:V E Guglielmi) (Vice: Cossens)	8	3 Cossens V E Guglielmi Massey	1 Broderick	1 White	1 J Henderson		2 Raby Watson	0	0